I get a strange satisfaction, a fulfillment, at looking around and seeing a home free of clutter.

Since moving into my new habitat, living has taken on a new life.

Criticism about my lifestyle has been a recurring topic behind closed doors for years as far as I could remember. I’d always hear through the grapevine about others’ discontent in my seemingly different way of doing things. While nothing I do is any different from the next man in anyway, I still can’t help but dive deeper into the madness of it all.

I’m big on interior design and decorating my house was quite a thrill for me. No, I wont show you any pictures of my house but I will give you some of the benefits I’ve found from living minimal.

According to ZEN HABITS .. here are the benefits for minimalism.

LESS STRESS

Clutter is a form of visual distraction, and everything in our vision pulls at our attention at least a little. The less clutter, the less visual stress we have. A minimalist home is calming.

More Appealing

Think about photos of homes that are cluttered, and photos of minimalist homes. The ones with almost nothing in them except some beautiful furniture, some nice artwork, and a very few pretty decorations, are the ones that appeal to most of us. You can make your home more appealing by making it more minimalist.

Easy Clean Up

It’s hard to clean a whole bunch of objects, or to sweep or vacuum around a bunch of furniture. The more stuff you have, the more you have to keep clean, and the more complicated it is to clean around the stuff. Think about how easy it is to clean an empty room compared to one with 50 objects in it. That’s an extreme example, of course, as I wouldn’t recommend you have an empty room, but it’s just to illustrate the difference.

Leave a Reply

